WEBINAR: Services Domestic Regulation

Services

Services trade accounts for half of global trade but the costs of trading services are twice as high as trade costs for goods. Most of these costs arise from regulatory divergence, as well as opaque regulations and cumbersome procedures.

Through the WTO Joint Initiative on Services Domestic Regulation, a group of more than 60 WTO members are developing disciplines to mitigate the unintended trade restrictive effects of measures relating to licensing and qualification requirements and procedures, as well as technical standards. 

Negotiations are at an advanced stage and an outcome is anticipated for the WTO Ministerial Meeting in November 2021. Services industry associations from the Global Services Coalition, and the Asia Pacific Services Coalition will participate in an interactive business discussion with keynote speaker Jaime Coghi Arias, Coordinator of the WTO Joint Initiative on Services Domestic Regulation. 

 

Event co-hosted by

Institute for International Trade, The University of Adelaide

Australian Services Roundtable

European Services Forum

Asia Pacific Services Coalition

Date:

Thursday 6 May, 2021 

Time:

Adelaide – 6.00pm 
Bangkok – 3.30pm 
Geneva – 10.30am 
Hong Kong – 4.30pm
Jakarta – 3.30pm
Manila – 4.30pm
Singapore – 4.30pm  
Sydney – 6.30pm 

Taipei – 4.30pm 
Tokyo – 5.30pm 

Moderator

Stuart Harbinson, Hong Kong Services Coalition, Geneva Representative  

Key Note Speaker

Jaime Coghi Arias, Coordinator of the JI on Services Domestic Regulation; Deputy Department Representative, Delegation of Cost Rica to the WTO

Discussants

Prewprae Chumrum, Bureau of Services and Investment Negotiations, Thai Ministry of Commerce tbc

Pascal Kerneis, Managing Director, European Services Forum, Brussels

Kiyotaka Morita, Deputy Director, International Affairs Bureau, Keidanren

Roy Chun Lee, Deputy Executive Director, Taiwan WTO and RTA Centre, Chinese Taipei

Devi Ariyani, Executive Director, Indonesian Services Dialogue

Jason Lee, Director, International Policy & Engagement, Singapore Business Federation

Jane Drake-Brockman, Industry Professor & Director, Australian Services Roundtable

Eduardo Pedrosa, Secretary-General, Pacific Economic Cooperation Council

Patrick Chua, Philippine Services Coalition & Coordinator, Asia Pacific Services Coalition

Markus Jelitto, WTO Secretariat

VIEW SPEAKERS BIOGRAPHIES

REGISTER HERE

 DOWNLOAD FLYER

 

Event Sponsor GLOBAL SERVICES COALITION 

EU logo
TIISA NETWIORK

TIISA - Trade and Investment in Services Associates

Tagged in Events, Trade in Investments In Services